Gandhi. King. Mandela. History offers extraordinary examples of individuals who take personal responsibility for the human condition. Since its inception, the Echo Award Against Indifference has honored those individuals in the Charlotte region and beyond who personify our mission to promote human dignity, justice, and moral courage through positive, effective action for humankind. Past recipients of the Echo Award Against Indifference are:


Hugh McColl, Jr.
Former Chairman & CEO, Bank of America

…for championing universal access to economic opportunity and education as essential components of community development.



Sally Dalton Robinson
Trustee Emerita, Duke University
Trustee, National Humanities Center
Founding Chair, Levine Museum of the New South

…for her unwavering commitment to developing Charlotte as a global city while fostering a sense of community among Charlotte’s diverse citizens.


Ferguson, Stein, Chambers, Gresham & Sumter, P.A.
First integrated law firm in North Carolina

…for their groundbreaking work to further racial equality and to advance federal civil rights law.



Jerry Richardson
Owner, Carolina Panthers

…for using his substantial power to grow economic opportunity through sports, and for his countless acts of compassion, anonymously.



R. Stuart Dickson
Former Chair, Ruddick Corporation
Chair, The Dickson Foundation

…for his vision and dedication to creating world-class arts and healthcare institutions in Charlotte.


Sandra & Leon Levine
Community Philanthropists
Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Family Dollar Stores, Inc.
Founder, The Leon Levine Foundation

…for driving the development of community medical, educational, religious, and arts infrastructure, and for their commitment to those in need.


Harvey Gantt
Founder, Gantt Huberman Architects
Mayor of Charlotte, 1983-1987

…for his dignity as the first African American admitted to Clemson University and his peaceful approach to leadership and racial equality.


Patricia Rodgers
President & CEO, Rodgers Builders, Inc.

…for her visionary leadership of Charlotte’s vital cultural, educational and economic institutions



Mary Lou Babb
Trustee, Symphony Guild
Founder, Women’s Impact Fund
Trustee, The Mint Museum
James Babb
EVP & COO, Bahakel Communications
Board of Governors, University of North Carolina
Trustee, National Association of Broadcasters

                                          …for their dedication to the vibrancy of regional cultural and educational institutions.

Howard “Smoky” Bissell
Founder, The Bissell Companies

…for his personal and lifelong commitment to building community in Charlotte by enhancing the quality of our education and healthcare institutions.



Bishop George Battle, Jr.
African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
Former President, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education

…for drawing upon faith to unite the community in tackling cycles of poverty, child neglect, racism and unequal educational opportunity.


Thomas W. Ross, Sr.
Former President, University of North Carolina System

…for his unwavering commitment to social justice, equal access to education, and human dignity for all people.



Joseph B. Martin, III
Former Principal Corporate Affairs Executive & Special Counsel, Bank of America

…for promoting tolerance, respect, and inclusion at all levels of community-building.



Sister Mary Thomas Burke
Founder and Former Chair, Counseling Department, UNC Charlotte
Founding Member, Planned Parenthood of Greater Charlotte

…for her determination to provide excellent care for women and families in the face of opposition.


Alan Dickson
Former President & Chair, Ruddick Corporation
President, The Dickson Foundation

…for his commitment to environmentalism and the sustainable development of the Charlotte community.


Dr. Dean W. Colvard
Former Chancellor, UNC Charlotte
Former President, Mississippi State University

…for his courage and leadership in integrating intercollegiate sports at Mississippi State as its President in 1963.